For a long while before I decided to travel to Jessup, Maryland, I was going through some trying times that were financial-related that I really don’t want to elaborate on right now. But I’ve spoken to a few creditors and I’ve managed to work out a payment plan and I’m also waiting for word on a potential opportunity that may earn me some money (which I also don’t want to elaborate on at this time). Basically I’ve been acting like an adult and doing adult negotiations and, for now, things are working for me.

I was also pretty stressed out so I decided to do something that was relatively fun just so I could clear my head and decompress from all that stress. It had to be close by my home (since I still can’t afford to go on a real vacation of any kind) and it had to be relatively low cost. So I went through the Roadside America site and I found out about this indoor miniature golf course and arcade center that’s located in Jessup.

I’ve played miniature golf before but they were mainly in Ocean City, which has the most elaborate and fantastic looking mini golf courses around. (Just do a Google Image search for miniature golf in Ocean City in order to know what I mean.) While there are a few miniature golf courses west of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, they all paled in comparison to Ocean City…with one major exception.

Monster Mini Golf in Jessup is probably the one course that comes closest to rivaling the ones in Ocean City. In fact, it’s one of three locations in the state of Maryland (the other two are in Gaithersburg and Towson). It’s an indoor course, which is great for those days when it’s either too hot or too cold or too rainy to do anything outside. The Jessup one is located in a nondescript shopping center which features a few chain restaurants (such as Panda Express) and Ollie’s, which is a discount place specializing in selling overstocks of various items (like linens and art supplies) at rock bottom prices. Even the outside doesn’t look too impressive.

photo1

Until you enter and you see something totally different. There’s one really cool feature that separates this Monster Mini Golf from the other mini golf courses: black light. The entire course has dark walls that is illuminated only by black light. On top of it, the course and various wall murals are painted in fluorescent colors, which result in a really cool effect.

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

photo6

photo7

There is a video arcade when you first enter along with the occasional snack machine. Like Dave & Buster’s, Monster Mini Golf requires you to get a plastic card where you add money and you use that in order to pay to play a video game.

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

Some of the video games actually dispense tickets, which you can redeem for various prizes. I checked the available prizes but most of them are geared towards kids.

photo12

There’s also a section where you can purchase items for cash (mainly toys and souvenir t-shirts).

photo13

There are even a few horror/goth-themed party rooms that one can rent for things like birthday parties or similar events.

photo14

But the main centerpiece is the indoor golf course, with is something to behold. I arrived by myself and I briefly thought about playing a game of solo mini-golf but then decided against it at the last minute because I didn’t think it would’ve been quite as fun as it would’ve been otherwise. Instead I simply walked around the course taking pictures everywhere I went. There are black light-illuminated fluorescence items everywhere including the holes, the walls, and the various items decorating the golf course.

photo15

photo16

photo17

photo18

photo19

photo20

photo21

photo22

photo23

photo24

photo25

photo26

photo27

photo28

photo29

photo30

photo31

photo32

photo33

photo34

photo35

photo36

photo37

photo38

photo39

photo40

photo41

photo42

photo43

photo44

photo45

photo46

photo47

photo48

Taking a walking tour of the place has inspired me to try recruiting some of my friends for some future Monster Mini Golf time. I imagine that it would be a total blast to play this miniature golf course.

photo49

