Here is the forty-second video in a series of computer animations called The Unicorn With An Attitude that I started back in the 1990’s in an ill-fated attempt to show off my abilities as an artist and a computer whiz in the hopes of either 1) get famous or 2) get a higher paying job than the office administrative work that I was frequently offered.

It also turned out to be the last video I did in this series mainly because, after working on this series off and on for a few years, I grew tired of putting a lot of effort into making these animations while not getting too many opportunities from them. I had never made any money from doing this series and I began to burn out from doing them for free.

I also began to lose my enthusiasm for the series after the one-two sucker punch of two major events. First there was the 2000 election, where one candidate received the majority of the popular vote but still lost due to the Electoral College giving the victor to the other candidate, who would later go on to becoming one of the worst U.S. Presidents ever.

Then there was the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001, one of which hit very close to home for me since I live relatively close to one of the targets (The Pentagon) and my own church was pressed into service when it served as the venue for a family who perished in those attacks.

But those terrorist attacks did provide an inspiration that ended up serving as The Unicorn With An Attitude’s swan song: “Buy American Now.” As the original write-up for this video stated:

Make a Patriotic Statement against Osama bin Ladin by buying some America-themed Unicorn With An Attitude stuff that you really didn’t need in the first place.

In the weeks following those terrorist attacks, I became appalled when a number of stores began to sell so-called “commemorative” September 11 items that were being hyped as future “collector’s items.” The bulk of these so-called “collector’s items” were downright awful. I remember some special gold coin that was struck by something called the “New England Mint,” which gave the false impression that it was somehow affiliated with the U.S. government. (As someone who used to collect coins as a child, I can tell you that the official U.S. Mint printing places where coins are struck are located in Denver, Philadelphia, San Francisco, and West Point. You can tell by taking a close look at each coin. The ones marked with a tiny “D” were struck in Denver, the ones with a tiny “P” were struck in Philadelphia, the tiny “S” were struck in San Francisco, and the tiny “W” is for West Point.)

But the one I remember as being the worst tacky commemorative was this multi-faceted crystal monstrosity shaped like the twin towers of the World Trade Center that was meant to be displayed on a desktop or tabletop that I saw on sale for $250. I saw it on display in the store window of this upscale shop in one of the many upscale malls that dot the Washington, DC metropolitan area. To be honest, I wouldn’t have paid $10 for that monstrosity, let alone $250.

I was so annoyed by the crass commercialization of what should’ve been a sad occasion that I did a parody of the whole thing. I originally paired it with two MIDI clips of “Taps” and “Stars and Stripes Forever.” For this re-release I used some of YouTube’s free music.

So, without further ado, here is the last animation in The Unicorn With An Attitude series, “Buy American Now.”

