Even though that weekend featured the much-hyped hottest days of the year, it was still action-packed for me starting with that special double feature movie showing of Heavy Metal Parking Lot and Led Zeppelin Played Here late on Friday night. Then there was the brief visit with my mother and the special Bingo event on Saturday. And there was also that tye-dye event I went to at my church before I arrived in DC for another session of Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School.

Between the very hot weather and the fact that I had done a bunch of other activities throughout the weekend, I wasn’t up for doing much exploring of the Dupont Circle area. Instead I ate a leisurely lunch at the Cosi that’s located near the Dupont Circle Metro station while basking in the air conditioning. After lunch I walked over to Kramerbooks & Afterwords where I browsed some books while basking in air conditioning. After a while I decided that I was in the mood for some ice cream so I walked over to the nearest locally-owned ice cream parlor known as Larry’s Homemade Ice Cream. I ordered the Decadent Chocolate ice cream cone and consumed it while basking in the air conditioning. (Boy, was it good!)

photo1

I arrived at the Bier Baron a little bit early so I decided to check out this monument that’s located on a median strip directly across the street. It’s dedicated to someone named Taras Shevchenko, who’s known as the Bard of Ukraine. Based on what I read on his Wikipedia page, it looks like Shevchenko is the Ukrainian equivalent of William Shakespeare. It’s a pretty nice looking memorial.

photo2

photo3

photo4

I entered the Bier Baron and went to the women’s restroom where I saw Toilet Trivia posted everywhere in the bathroom like this one.

photo5

I took a picture of this voodoo doll that was on display before Dr. Sketchy’s began. I later learned that it belonged to the model for this event.

photo6

After I took that last photo, my smartphone abruptly shut itself down because it had ran very low on battery power and I had forgotten to bring a recharger with me. But that was alright because I had to change to colored pencils and paper any way since it’s a life drawing event.

The model for this session was Alex Doll, who’s a consulting event producer for Ripley’s Believe It or Not and she’s currently in the process of putting on sideshows at the various Ripley’s Odditorium throughout the U.S., including its Baltimore and Ocean City location. (Which brought back memories of the last time I went to the Baltimore Odditorium a few hours after I spent the morning in divorce court.) She’s also the Creator/Producer/Director of Atomic Doll Productions, which specializes in sideshows. Some of the drawings in this post are sort of NSFW-ish depending on your personal point of view.

picture1

picture2

picture3

picture4

At one point Alex Doll lived up to her name when she posed with this interesting looking ringmaster doll. I focused more on the doll in her lap, which is why she appears headless in this drawing.

picture5

I took part in the contest where you had to add a tiki feature to the drawing mainly because Alex Doll had changed costumes to something that looks vaguely Polynesian. I drew this one of a tiki god or idol setting her grass skirt on fire with a tiki torch. That one didn’t make it to the finals.

picture6

After that contest I drew a few more pictures of Alex Doll.

picture7

picture8

picture9

I took part in the final contest of the day. Alex Doll had changed into a costume she called “Swamp Thing” so we had to incorporate a Swamp Thing. Two winners would be selected because there were two books to give away. I really went for it with gusto. I envisioned a movie called Godzilla Meets Swamp Thing with a child resulting from that encounter nine months later. (I’ll admit that I was inspired by the early 1980’s miniseries V where a teenage girl actually became pregnant by an alien visitor who was later revealed to be a lizard-like creature disguised as a human male. I remember she gave birth to twins—one was a human baby girl with a long forked tongue and the other was a lizard-like boy.)

For added measure I included a few critic review quotes. One was from Beavis & Butt-head. The second was from Bill Cosby because that morning The Guardian app on my smartphone sent a push notification about a new article further detailing his deposition from 10 years ago where he essentially admitted drugging women so he could do whatever he wanted with them. (As if I didn’t need new evidence convincing me that Cosby is little more than a total creep who only avoided prison because he was rich and famous.) For the third quote I mentioned Phyllis Schlafly because that woman has recently been making obnoxious public pronouncements like this one and that one.

picture10

My picture was among three finalists and I was one of the two winners. Here is a photo of the book that I won. It’s called Ragnar’s Kings of the Road and it was published by Baby Tattoo Books. It’s an interesting sketchbook based on real people that the artist Ragnar met while traveling across the United States.

photo7

Between what I won at both Dr. Sketchy’s and at Bingo the day before, I had one of the most winning weekends in a very long time. 🙂

