The weekend of July 18-19 were noted as being the hottest days of the year with temperatures soaring to as high as 95 degrees Fahrenheit and very high humidity. I spent the first day of that hot day visiting my mother followed by playing Bingo at a Moose Lodge in Annapolis, which I already wrote about.

The morning of July 19 was Day 2 of the hottest days of the year but it began with the annual Tye-Dye Sunday at my Unitarian Universalist congregation. Basically the event runs concurrent with both the regular Sunday service (for children and teens) and the social hour immediately following the worship service (so adults can have the chance to join in the fun as well).

This year I purchased a blank white t-shirt on sale at A.C. Moore’s for $2.99 (regular price is $3.99) a few weeks before this event. I also had a blank light tan bag that I purchased months ago from a local Jo-Ann’s Fabrics & Crafts because I was thinking about making another unique one-of-a-kind recyclable shopping bag to donate to my congregation’s upcoming auction in the fall. But I hadn’t done anything with that bag so I decided to bring that to the Tye-Dye Sunday as well.

I took a bunch of pictures and I later uploaded them on to my personal Facebook account while tagging my friends. Here they are.

Here’s the line of dyes in different colors that were manufactured by the Dharma Trading Company.

photo1

For people who forgot to bring anything to tye-dye, there were extra blank t-shirts in a variety of sizes that were available in exchange for a small donation.

photo2

A tarp was set up in order to avoid staining the church deck.

photo3

A bunch of items waiting to be tye-dyed undergo a special bath treatment where they soak in boiling hot water mixed with a special primer that’s designed to help the shirts absorb the dye better so they won’t quickly fade.

photo4

People of all ages were busy working on their tye-dye projects.

photo5

photo6

photo7

photo8

photo9

photo10

photo11

photo12

photo13

photo14

photo15

Tye-Dye Sunday was the first of two scheduled events I had planned on attending that day (yes, on Day 2 of the hottest days of the year) so I had to cut my time short in order to make it to my second event in time (which I’ll write about in a separate entry). The big instruction was that the tye-dyed items have to be placed in a plastic bag then put in direct sunlight in order to affect the final dye action. Since the second event was being held in downtown Washington, DC and since I had planned on getting there via Metro, I decided to put my bag full of recently dyed items right on the ledge next to the back windshield of my car after I parked in the Metro station parking lot. While I was traveling to and from DC, my newly dyed items were being cooked by the fact that it was 95 degrees outside with high humidity, it was placed in direct sunlight, and my car has dark interiors so it absorbs heat.

photo16

I had to wait at least 24 hours before removing the items from the bag in order to make sure that the items were dyed pretty well. Once I returned home from the other event, I removed the bag from my car and placed it next to a sunny window in my home. The next day I removed the items from the bag and, following the instructions posted on the Dharma Trading Company’s website, I rinsed the items in the kitchen sink, removed the rubber bands, washed them in the washing machine, and hanged them over the bathroom tub to dry. Here are the results.

The dyed worked pretty well on the bag despite the fact that it was a light tan color. The dye colors were a bit muted because they interacted with the tan color but the results still looked good on both sides.

photo17

photo18

The dye really worked spectacularly on that plain white T-shirt that I brought with me. Here are both sides of that shirt.

photo19

photo20

And here’s a selfie of me wearing that shirt.

photo21

