Not too long ago I received this letter from the IRS saying that a refund that they had sent back in 2010 was never deposited or cashed for some reason and they needed someone to verify that the address they had on file was still valid. That was back when I was still married and my husband still lived with me. I tried calling them to see what it was about but I was diverted to this voice mail system from hell where I would press buttons then get sent to the wrong department. (I tried this several times only to get so frustrated that I would hang up each time.)

I know that it’s a trend for employers in both the public and private sector to stop hiring human receptionists in favor of computerized voice mail systems but I would rather have a surly-tempered human receptionist over some badly designed voice mail that sends your calls into some kind of a neutral zone where you never find the person or department you need to speak to. At least I could explain myself to a human, unlike a poorly programmed and/or confusing voice mail system.

So I tried visiting the IRS in person. I went to the office in Landover since it was the one closest to my home only to see this incredibly long line outside the office entrance. The guard on duty said that this office was handling only certain functions. I asked him about my situation and he told me that I needed to visit one of the larger offices in either Rockville or Annapolis. Since I was already on the way to Annapolis (the Landover office was located near Route 50), I decided to drive the rest of the way on Route 50 until I reached the other IRS office located on the outskirts. I managed to get an answer about the letter and, no, I’m not getting any additional money but at least I got some resolution so I won’t get any more letters like what I got. (There’s more to this story but it’s kind of convoluted and it all stems from my husband running away from home then insisting that we separate all of our finances as soon as possible while refusing to even talk to me like I was his loving wife for many years.)

As I was leaving the Annapolis office, I was starting to drive back along Admiral Cochrane Drive when I saw something that made my park my car in a nearby parking space, grab my smartphone, and step outside. The IRS office is located in an office park that’s pretty nondescript except for this statue that literally caught my eye.

It’s an art installation that’s located pretty close to the IRS office. It’s mostly a steel structure that depicts a young boy and adult male sitting on a wooden pier. (They are probably either father and son, grandfather and grandson, or even uncle and nephew.) The bluish rocks under and around the pier suggest water while the surrounding grasses suggest marshlands.

photo1

Getting a closer look, it looks like the pair were going crabbing because of the steel cage. I only went crabbing once in my life when I was a teenager and I went on a weekend camping trip to Solomon’s Island with other teens from the local Catholic Youth Organization so I definitely recognized the scene in that art installation. The boy is sitting on a turned-over bucket where live crabs are kept until they are steamed.

photo2

The man is kneeling over the crab trap while using a tong to grab the crabs trapped inside.

photo3

The last photo shows the crabs trapped inside the crab trap while trying to evade the tong.

photo4

This sculpture is located in such an unexpected place like an office park that I found it to be a lovely surprise after spending some time dealing with the IRS. It’s an example of how sometimes one can find art in the most unexpected places.

