Here is the thirty-ninth video in a series of computer animations called The Unicorn With An Attitude that I started back in the 1990’s in an ill-fated attempt to show off my abilities as an artist and a computer whiz in the hopes of either 1) get famous or 2) get a higher paying job than the office administrative work that I was frequently offered.

This is another one of my more political animations that I created just in time for St. Patrick’s Day. As the original writeup for this animation puts it:

The Unicorn With An Attitude meets a Leprechaun With An Attitude with violent yet funny results!

I created this animation back in 2001 around the time when various LGBTQ Irish-American groups tried for years to participate in the St. Patrick’s Day parades in both Boston and New York City (starting in the 1990’s) only to be denied by the organizers in both cities. They tried filing lawsuits only to have the judges side with the organizers.

To me it was totally surreal because at that same time I started to know more open LGBTQ people in my Unitarian Universalist congregation (that denomination was in the process of encouraging its member churches to go through the Welcoming Congregation program in order to be more welcoming to those whose orientations are anything other than cis-gender heterosexual. On top of that, I am of both Irish and Scotch-Irish ancestry (along with German, Scottish, English, Welsh, and Czech) so I definitely paid attention to what was going on with the effort to diversify the St. Patrick’s Day parades.

In response to the news at the time, I created “Leprechaun” where The Unicorn With An Attitude meets a leprechaun at the end of a rainbow. The two fantasy creatures hit it off real well until the leprechaun started to display an ugly side of himself and the unicorn reacted to this in a way that only a unicorn could.

Thanks to an increasing tolerance towards LGBTQ in recent years (including the recent Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriage in all 50 states in the United States), this animation is now quaint but it still serves as a reflection of a less tolerant past from not too long ago. This year, 2015, marks the first time that openly gay groups could march in Boston and New York City on St. Patrick’s Day.

So, without further ado, here is “Leprechaun.”

