Four years ago I wrote “Trump: The Poem” when Donald Trump was flirting with the idea of running for president. I performed it at a few local poetry slam events to great laughter and acclaim. I later made this video where I recited the poem while I showed off this talking Donald Trump doll that I purchased as a gag gift for my then-husband for Christmas.

Who could’ve predicted that this poem is now more relevant than ever? Donald Trump has not only decided to enter the political race for real but, in the process, he had alienated the Latino vote with his comment that Mexican immigrants are rapists, criminals, and drug dealers.

So far he had not only had a giant Mexican piñata made in his image but he had lost deals with both NBC and Macy’s in the same week because neither company were thrilled to be associated with that buffoon.

As a result of all this, I didn’t have to alter my poem in any way at all.

So, once again, here is “Trump: The Poem.”

