This year I went to the Maryland Faerie Festival for the first time since 2011, when it was held in its previous location of Upper Marlboro. But, starting in 2012, the Maryland Faerie Festival was being held at Camp Ramblewood in Darlington, which is at least an hour and a half drive away from my home. On top of it, the Maryland Faerie Festival began to hold its event on Mother’s Day weekend, which was at the same time as the similarly-themed Greenbelt Green Man Festival. (Prior to the change in location, the Faerie Festival was usually held a weekend or two after the Green Man Festival so anyone interested in such things didn’t have to choose which one to go to.) I generally went to the Green Man Festival because it was held closer to my home.

Until this year when the organizers of the Maryland Faerie Festival finally decided to hold it later in the spring so it wouldn’t conflict with Mother’s Day. I was pretty happy because I missed not going to that festival so I finally got the chance to check out Camp Ramblewood to see what it was like.

The only bad thing was that the weather had been hot and humid like crazy. (The weather was more like July and August than a typical June in the Mid-Atlantic region.) But I had missed going to that festival so much that I was willing to overlook the weather in order to go. Besides the AccuWeather app on my smartphone said that it was going to rain on that same day and I figured that it would cool things off a bit so I packed an umbrella.

Except I went to the Bowie Baysox baseball game the night before and found that AccuWeather was wrong about the weather because it rained when that app said it wouldn’t rain at all and I had left my umbrella in the car because of it. So for the Maryland Faerie Festival I packed my umbrella to bring with me into the park and it not only didn’t rain at all but the humidity was very high and the temperature rose to the low 90’s.

Despite the weather I still liked the atmosphere of the place overall and I took a bunch of nice photos.

Here’s a rare selfie of me wearing a unicorn mask. I purchased the mask a few years earlier from Mythical Masks by Miscellaneous Oddiments LLC at the Greenbelt Green Man Festival back when I was still happily married and I could easily afford the occasional indulgence.

A rare selfie taken at the #marylandfaeriefestival

I wore the mask long enough so I could get a discount on admissions (which was given to anyone who arrived in costume) but I ended up taking it off and putting it in my tote bag for the rest of my time at the festival because I was positively sweltering while wearing it due to the high heat/high humidity. (Most of the time I have that mask hanging on a wall in my home like a picture using special hooks.)

As I wandered around the festival I was delighted to see the abundant fantasy and nature that seemed to be naturally blurred as one. It was my first time at Camp Ramblewood and I hadn’t been to the Maryland Faerie Festival in four years so everything was new and novel to me as I took out my smartphone and photographed everything like mad.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I was taking a picture of the man in the next photo wearing a Green Man t-shirt and holding his dragon. When I mentioned his t-shirt and the Greenbelt Green Man Festival, we got to talking and it turned out that we have two friends in common yet I have never met him until that festival. It’s a small world after all (to quote the famous Disney song).

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

The next few photos show the booth that was staffed by the band Frenchy and the Punk. I once caught them live in a show that my husband and I attended together just a few months before he abruptly left me for someone else. (I even shot a few videos from that show here, here, here, and here.) Apparently Frenchy and the Punk is evolving beyond music to show off and sell their handmade arts and crafts, much of which I found quite impressive.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

Everywhere I went there were all kinds of sights, sounds, and colors.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the Wishing Tree Grove, people could hang up their wishes written on tiny strips of paper while children of all ages had the opportunity to create small fairy houses and fairy doors for all the wee magical folk.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

And here are some more nice bucolic scenes.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

There were all kinds of performances at that festival throughout the day. I caught one such act by a band known as Telesma, which played very catchy music that got people dancing on their feet while others sat around both inside and outside near the open-air barn where the performance took place.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I came across a Mermaid Lagoon. Seriously!

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I came across this pirate ship display which had a large doll whose face resembled Barbie. I later did some Google research and I found that there is a three-foot version of Barbie available for sale. Wow! I never knew that before!

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I also ran into a friend of mine at this festival. The woman on the right is Patty. She’s standing next to a friend of hers named Alex.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

For those who wanted to spend an entire weekend at the Maryland Faerie Festival (the festival ran from late Friday night through late Sunday afternoon) but didn’t want to face a three-day long commute, Camp Ramblewood has cabins where individuals and small groups can rent that provides rustic living. For people who prefer to get even closer to nature, there are also areas that one can rent so he/she can erect a tent.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

There was a red unicorn who was sharing a pen with a fairy goat while both mythical animals were being cared for by a yellow fairy. When the yellow fairy decided to ride the red unicorn’s back for a brief stroll around the festival grounds, the fairy goat, which had been lying down resting, suddenly got up and began to wander around the pen and bleat like crazy. I guess the fairy goat was upset over not being included with that outing. LOL!

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I went through some forbidden forest, known as the Unseelie Woods until I found some Unseelie Faeries.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I checked out some goblins in a goblin tent.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

There were also all kinds of arts and crafts that one can view and/or purchase.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At times the heat and humidity was pretty overwhelming. At one point I actually rested under one of the tent canopies where I struck up this pleasant conversation with a woman and her owl.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

I ended up eating dinner at the festival and I stayed until the official 6 p.m. closing time. (There was a special nighttime party event that was scheduled to begin a few hours later but I would’ve had to pay an extra $25 and I just didn’t want to deal with facing the first leg of my return trip home along dark rural roads by myself.) By the end of the day there were very few visitors left. I think the high heat and high humidity got to a lot of people because the place was nearly empty by around 4 or 5 p.m. I left after I finished my dinner. On my way out I saw that Camp Ramblewood has this wooden sculpture that’s not only two-sided but also has two genders.

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

At the #marylandfaeriefestival

Here is the one thing I got at the Maryland Faerie Festival and I got it for free. It’s a temporary rose tattoo. I put it on while I was still at the festival using some bottled water I had with me. The temporary tattoo lasted around five days until some of it began to break up. It became unrecognizable after seven days as more of the tattoo flecked away from the skin.

I got this temporary rose tattoo at the #marylandfaeriefestival

http://www.nablopomo.com

