Thanks to today’s Supreme Court ruling, same-sex marriage is now legal in all 50 states in the United States of America.

Three years ago I wrote a post about same-sex marriage when the majority of voters in Maryland voted in favor of same-sex marriage, which made it legal in that state. Now all 50 states have to not only allow same-sex marriage but they also have to recognize same-sex couples who were married in other states and other countries.

My earlier post was all about my evolution on same-sex marriage and how it occurred on a grand scale after my then-husband and I joined a local Unitarian Universalist congregation and we met a longtime member of that church name Ed Kobee whose coming out surprised me. I knew that Ed was previously married to a woman and had two children but I’ve since learned that prior to the late 1960’s it was common for gays and lesbians to enter into heterosexual marriages in an effort to blend in with society and deny their true feelings. He and his partner, Al Usack, worked tirelessly to make the UU denomination more welcoming for LGBTQ persons and they have even written a chapter in a book called Coming Out in Faith: Voices of LGBTQ Unitarian Universalists.

It was through them and other LGBTQ people who started to attend our Sunday services that I started to see them less as strange people and more as normal, ordinary, everyday people who simply want to live their lives as they see fit. Their same-sex relationships were just as ordinary as my own marriage.

I am now happy for my LGBTQ friends who now have the legal right to get married. They now have all the same legal rights as heterosexual married couples in terms of inheritance, hospital visiting privileges, housing, etc.

As I’m seeing all sorts of outpouring erupting on social media over today’s Supreme Court decision, I’m still reminded of the first time I ever saw a gay wedding. It was when I was in the seventh grade and my social studies teacher showed the film Future Shock in the classroom. There was a brief one-minute scene showing a gay wedding and I still remember when the kids in my class erupted with laughter and I’m ashamed to admit that I laughed along with them because such an idea seemed so absurd to me at the time. I’m glad that I changed my attitude in the years since seeing that movie for the first time and I’m happy that any adult who wants to marry another adult can now do so regardless of the gender of the two individuals.

Thanks to the wonders of YouTube, you can now see Future Shock in all of its 42-minute glory. If you aren’t interested in seeing the movie in its entirety, the gay wedding scene is at the 27 minute mark.

http://www.nablopomo.com

