Recently I finally got around to finishing painting and varnishing these birdhouses that had been sitting around my house in their unpainted state for a long time. One of them I purchased at Wegman’s around the time that it was getting close to the second anniversary of the day that my husband abruptly walked out on me (which came three months after my hip surgery and three days after Christmas). The other two I purchased on impulse from a local Jo-Ann’s Fabrics and Crafts the following year because I had this theory that having three unpainted birdhouses would kick my butt into gear and paint them. Except that I didn’t get around to doing it either.

So this year I decided to do it. It’s part of this ambitious gardening plan that I have for my home now that I have it to myself and I can make all the decisions without consulting anyone else. If my plans work, I’ll write one long self-congratulatory post. (LOL!)

In the meantime, I’m just going to focus on the birdhouses. Like I wrote earlier, I purchased all three of them in their unpainted state. All I had to do is to paint them and varnish them. I used acrylic paint then I sealed the paint job with polyurethane varnish. I also used stencils on two of the houses.

Here’s the first birdhouse I purchased at Wegman’s. Unlike the other two, this one has a thatched roof.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

Here’s one of the birdhouses that I purchased from Jo-Ann’s Fabrics and Crafts.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

Here’s the other birdhouse that I purchased from Jo-Ann’s.

photo1

photo2

photo3

photo4

photo5

Basically I finished painting and varnishing them just in time for the Memorial Day Holiday Weekend. As part of my overall gardening overhaul, I rearranged the shepherd’s crooks (which I originally purchased as part of a failed experiment in topsy turvy gardening a few years ago) and I hung the birdhouses. I’m only hoping that I didn’t hang them too late in the spring because it would be cool if some birds actually used at least one of them to build a nest and start a family. As of this writing, the birdhouses remain empty. At least they still look bright, colorful, and decorative.

http://www.nablopomo.com

