I pretty much stayed close to home during Memorial Day Weekend. On the holiday itself I spent most of my time gardening and trying to clean up my yard in general. (Which is a challenge considering all the rain we were getting.) In the evening I decided to head off to this bar that I literally haven’t visited since my college days mainly because I heard that it is currently having a series of pinball contests.

I last visited Town Hall when I was still a student at the University of Maryland a long time ago. I went with my then-boyfriend and his friend. At the time that place was literally a dive with some rough redneck looking people. I’ll never forget this one man sitting at the bar who had such a huge gut on him that, if he was a woman, I would’ve thought that he was nine months pregnant and close to delivering a baby. I subsequently broke up with that boyfriend and I ended up with another college boyfriend who became my ex-husband but he and I never went to Town Hall together because I still had less than fond memories of the place. Even after the old Town Hall was completely razed and a new one was built in its place, I hadn’t gotten around to going back. Until this past Memorial Day.

There weren’t a lot of people the night I was there. (I think there was one bartender on duty with two other patrons just hanging around.) I checked out the pinball machines and they looked impressive.

photo1

photo2

My personal favorite was the one that was based on the British TV show Doctor Who.

photo3

Here’s the art featuring just a portion of the different personas of The Doctor (as played by different actors in over the show’s 50 years in existence).

photo4

The top of the pinball machine had a Dalek.

photo5

The pinball game itself had a miniature Tardis where the pinball could go through.

photo6

I didn’t stay too long at Town Hall because I was still kind of tired from spending most of the day gardening. I saw the information about a summer Pinball League that was planning on holding its tournaments in Town Hall. This league is affiliated with something called the Free State Pinball Association. The ultimate end-of-the-season grand prize is a pinball machine. For me winning a pinball machine would be a nightmare because I wouldn’t know where to put it in my modest size townhouse.

photo7

http://www.nablopomo.com

