May 16, 2015 was a pretty momentous day for me. I attended the Crazy Quilt Music Festival, which included an actual wedding of two friends of mine who perform together as a duo known as The Bachelor and the Bad Actress. If all that wasn’t enough, there was an interesting workshop at Makerspace 125 on creating a fairy garden that I also wanted to go to. I didn’t have to make any kind of choices or compromises because both the wedding and the music festival took place outside in Roosevelt Center and Makerspace 125 is located just a few feet away in one of the storefronts (where a family-owned dry cleaning business was previously located before it went out of business a few years ago).

I basically arrived at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival and took a few initial shots with my smartphone while I listened to one of the earlier acts until it was time for the workshop to begin. Then I went inside Makerspace 125 and worked on my own fairy garden until just a few minutes before the start of the wedding. I observed the wedding and the concert performance which immediately followed. Then I returned to Makerspace 125 to finish up my fairy garden until it was time for the center to close. By that point the clouds outside became more ominous (there were thunderstorms predicted on that day—luckily the rain held off until after the wedding ended) so I went home.

I’ve already written extensively about the wedding in a previous post so I’m just going to devote this post to just the fairy garden workshop.

When I first entered, I noticed that there was a small 3D printer that belonged to a person who recently purchased it and had simply brought it to Makerspace 125 to show it to people. It’s a M3D and it’s one of the first affordable printer that’s made for the consumer market. It’s priced at $349, which is still pretty high for people who are currently financially struggling but, compared to other printers whose prices range from $1,000-3,000, this printer is a relative bargain.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Some of the food for the reception following the nearby wedding were kept at Makerspace 125, which agreed to keep the food in exchange for a donation from the wedding couple.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Here’s the fairy garden workshop itself, with the supplies used in creating a fairy garden.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

The next photo shows a demonstration fairy garden to give workshop participants an idea on how to create their own fairy garden.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Here are my fellow workshop participants hard at work on making their own fairy garden.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

And here’s the fairy garden I created for myself.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

A cutaway tree bark was used as the base. I used twigs to create the foundation of the wall. For the wall itself I used a combination of tree bark chips, dried moss, and ivy made from plastic. I added two felt birds towards the top of the structure.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

I embellished the wall with seashells (one of which already had tiny fruit stickers stuck to it that I found charming enough to use as is). The two chairs were made from wine cork with a chunk that was cut away. I attempted to use a small chair to simulate an ottoman that one of the visiting fairies could use to rest his/her feet on. I glued glass domes around the edge.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

Basically I began working on my fairy garden until it was close to the time of the wedding, when I stepped just a few feet outside of Makerspace 125 and found myself a place where I could get as good a view of the event as possible. Then I observed the wedding and the subsequent live music performance of The Bachelor and the Bad Actress’ first concert as husband and wife. I stayed there until someone from Makerspace 125 found me and informed me that the fairy garden workshop leader was going to pack her supplies soon (apparently she had another event that she was going to and she needed to wrap everything up so she could arrive to the next event on time). So I went back to the STEM center so I could finish my fairy garden. Once I finished that project, I stepped outside and observed some more of the wedding and the rest of the Crazy Quilt Music Festival (which I already wrote about right here).

My new fairy garden is currently sitting on the coffee table in my living room. I think it looks nice where it is so I’m going to try to make it a centerpiece for most of the year (with the exception of Christmas where I’ll have my miniature artificial tree on display).

http://www.nablopomo.com

