Saturday, May 16, 2015 was a pretty exciting day. There was the annual music festival known as The Crazy Quilt Music Festival. (The reason for the name is because of the eclectic nature of the musical acts. There might be a folk act followed by a hip hop performer followed by a rock band specializing in progressive rock followed by a country band and, well, you get the idea.) One of the organizers of that festival also performs with his girlfriend turned fiancee as The Bachelor and The Bad Actress. That duo were not only performing at the festival but they decided to get married at the beginning of their set then follow the wedding ceremony with a live performance.

As far as I knew, nothing like this has ever happened in Greenbelt, Maryland (where the festival was held). In fact, I haven’t heard of anything like this anywhere, with maybe the possible exception of Sly Stone’s 1974 wedding at Madison Square Garden in New York City in front of 21,000 fans. The Crazy Quilt Music Festival drew at least 300 people, which was a far cry from Stone’s wedding. (The festival venue, Roosevelt Center, can’t really accommodate Madison Square Garden-sized crowds too well.)

I had a busy day myself. I arrived at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival and took some initial shots while listening to one of the earlier acts. The STEM center, Makerspace 125, is also located at Roosevelt Center and it was running a workshop on making fairy gardens that was being held at the same time as Crazy Quilt. So I went inside and worked a bit on my fairy garden until just a few minutes before the wedding’s scheduled 4 p.m. slot when I grabbed my portable folding chair (which I had with me at the time) and set up a suitable spot for myself. I observed the wedding and the concert performance which immediately followed. Then I returned to Makerspace 125 to finish up my fairy garden until it was time for the center to close. By that point the clouds outside became more ominous (there were thunderstorms predicted on that day—luckily the rain held off until after the wedding ended) so I went home.

This wedding was covered in the local media like The Gazette. Apparently this was the first time that a wedding was ever held in Roosevelt Center in recent memory.

I uploaded all of the photos I took that day on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. A day or so after my uploads, a blogger with Greenbelt Live, Susan Harris, asked if she could use some of my photos in her blog and I gave her permission. You can see which photos she chose here. In this post I’m uploading all of my pictures as well as a short video I made so you can get a clear picture of what went on.

So much happened on that day that I’m going to put the Makerspace 125 fairy garden workshop in a different post and just focus on the wedding itself here, starting with the original promo flyer for both the festival and the wedding.

The Schedule For the Crazy Quilt Music Festival (Including Wedding Time)

And here’s an announcement that the festival was stiving to be a Zero Waste Event.

A Notice Announcing the Crazy Quilt Festival as a Zero Waste Event

One of the festival’s earlier acts perform on stage a few hours before the wedding. The banner is a reference to one of The Bachelor and The Bad Actress’ songs called The Church of You and Me.

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

All of the musicians who performed at that festival essentially performed without pay so they relied on whatever tips the audience provided.

Before the Wedding

There were some hula hoops provided for festival attendees to borrow if they felt like doing some hula hooping to the music.

Before the Wedding

I took a few more pre-wedding photos before I headed to the fairy gardens workshop at Makerspace 125.

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

Some of the food for the reception following the wedding were kept at Makerspace 125, which agreed to keep the food in exchange for a donation from the wedding couple.

Creating a Fairy Garden Workshop, Makerspace 125, May 16, 2015

There was a community art project that would be delivered to the wedding couple. The idea was that people would paint images signifying their wishes for the couple. I saw that this hands-on project was really popular with the kids, which was why I never got a chance to add my own artistic touches to the painting.

Before the Wedding

Before the Wedding

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

So I went to Makerspace 125 where I started my fairy garden project. I interrupted my work on that project when it was almost time for the wedding to begin and I stepped outside and started taking pictures once again, such as this next photo of a woman cosplaying as a fairy.

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

Here’s Joe the Groom (a.k.a. “The Bachelor” in The Bachelor and the Bad Actress).

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The wedding participants took to the stage just before the ceremony began.

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

I shot a video of the wedding. Unfortunately I didn’t shoot a lot of footage because my smartphone camera’s video feature kept on shutting off after a minute or so. At the time I had forgotten to download some previous photos on my MacBook so I think it was due to the fact that the hard disk inside my camera was almost full. (I’ve since downloaded everything on my MacBook and deleted the files from my smartphone so I have disk space once again.) But it showed the beginning when the wedding participants sang the 1950’s pop song “Going to the Chapel” as Hillary the Bride (a.k.a. “The Bad Actress”) took to the stage wearing a lovely white wedding dress.

I quickly grew frustrated with my smartphone rebelling against shooting video so I stuck to taking still photos for the rest of the day. (The camera part worked fine.)

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The woman in the center of the stage dressed in a long sleeved pink blouse and yellow skirt is my friend Amethyst. She had recently gotten certification with the State of Maryland as a wedding officiant affiliated with the Universal Life Church so she performed her first wedding, which was pretty cool.

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

And here’s the moment when the couple were officially proclaimed as husband and wife.

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

After that first kiss as husband and wife, the couple began to put on a concert performance. There are times when I wonder if they will still be known as The Bachelor and the Bad Actress. While Hillary can keep her Bad Actress title (I don’t think she has any plans to take serious acting lessons so her acting won’t be dubbed as “bad”), technically Joe is no longer The Bachelor since he’s now married.

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

I really enjoyed myself at the wedding as I socialized with a few people and took pictures. At one point I even saw my ex-husband and that friend of ours he left me for and quickly married. The great news was that they basically hung around the peripheral of the large crowd that were gathered for the wedding so I could only see them at a far distance. I tried aiming my camera so I wouldn’t pick up any images of them. I was sort of successful. They were in a few of the crowd scenes but they were so far in the back that the only way I can even see them is if I do a very big enlargement of the background in the image editing program of my choice. But I’m okay with that. At least there weren’t any closeup shots of The Backstabbing Couple From Hell. (I guess I’m still a bit bitter but I have a good reason to feel this way.) After hanging around the wedding for a while, someone from Makerspace 125 found me and informed me that the fairy garden workshop leader was going to pack her supplies soon (apparently she had another event that she was going to and she needed to wrap everything up so she could arrive to the next event on time). So I went back to the STEM center so I could finish my fairy garden.

After I finished my fairy garden, I stepped back outside. The wedding guests had moved to one of the back tents for the reception and one of the later acts on the Crazy Quilt Music Festival roster had taken to the stage.

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

But then I discovered that my timing was perfect. At the moment I had finished taking the above three photographs, the newlywed couple suddenly stepped out to the front of the stage and started their first dance as husband and wife.

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

If you looked closely at the sky in some of the above photographs, you’d notice that it looked ominous. The weather had threatened rain for most of the day and the air was very humid. Fortunately the rain held off until after the couple finished with their first dance, when it began to drizzle. (There were some heavier storms that took place after dark.)

As part of the wedding festivities the couple had rented a moon bounce house for people of all ages to bounce around in for free. By that point it was starting to drizzle so I didn’t feel like going through the hassle of taking off my shoes before going inside to bounce around in. But a couple of kids didn’t mind the rain so they took off their shoes, went inside, and bounced around while I took these last photographs.

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

The Wedding Reception at the Crazy Quilt Music Festival

