Last Saturday I decided to attend the annual German Festival at the Maryland State Fairgrounds in Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland for the second year in a row. Last year I attended the first such festival in a number of years and everything seemed new and novel for me. I returned this year only to find that it’s pretty much the same. There were maybe a new vendor or two but, otherwise, it was pretty much the same as last year. I still enjoyed myself despite this and I took a bunch of photos with my smartphone.

When I first arrived, I saw a long line forming outside the building, which was unlike last year (when I basically only had maybe two or three people ahead of me. I was behind this young woman who was in cosplay garb and she looked more like she was on her way to Otakon (the annual anime convention which will be held in Baltimore next month). We were all in the sun with the temperature reaching the high 80’s.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

But then we were directed to stand closer to the building in the shade, which was a bit of a relief. Eventually the lines started to move a bit faster. I later learned that there was only one person at the door taking money and the festival organizers had to quickly find more people to staff the entrance. In any case, I still remained behind the cosplayer with the pink wig and the Pokémon backpack.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

When I got inside the first thing I did was to use the women’s bathroom. I went inside the handicapped stall (which I tend to use a lot these days since my original hip replacement back in 2008) where I found two toilets sharing the same stall with no wall between them. I thought it was pretty strange.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

Here’s a panoramic shot of the entire festival to give you an idea of its size.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

There were people of all ages dressed in traditional German outfits along with German dancers (at one point there was even a group of dancers demonstrating the Funky Chicken complete with hand gestures) and people playing traditional German instruments.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

I arrived late enough in the afternoon that I was able to eat an early dinner. I treated myself to a pork schnitzel sandwich followed by a giant pretzel. For dessert, I ate this Black Forest Cake slice.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

I walked around the festival but I didn’t buy much because money is still too tight for me. There was a new vendor this year who sold some treats that combined chocolate and bacon. I was too broke to buy anything from that table and even if I had the money, I’m not sure I would have the guts to try something like this.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

There was also this booth that sold treats that I wouldn’t even try even if I could afford them, such as Fried Twinkies and Fried Moon Pies.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

I have to admit that the vast majority of the food that was on sale was pretty normal and a lot of it looked very tasty.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

Basically when I wasn’t watching the musicians and dancers, I was walking around the festival looking at the various arts and craft tables as well as information tables regarding the various German-American organizations throughout the Washington, DC area.

 

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

 

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

After a while I grew tired and I decided to leave. On the way out I noticed this rock climbing wall outside the hall where the festival was held. It was one of the children’s activities that was part of the festival yet I didn’t see anyone using it. I think it’s due to the fact that it was hot outside with the temperature in the high 80’s.

German-American Festival, Lutherville-Timonium, Maryland, July 26, 2014

