Last Saturday Art Whino was holding a reception at its gallery at National Harbor and, as part of the festivities, it was offering a free drawing session with a live model. I decided to take Art Whino up on the free drawing session and I headed out with my drawing supplies.

There were a few minor snags on my way to the gallery. First of all National Harbor was full of traffic because it was holding a "Bourbon & BBQ Festival" that looked like it was very popular. I had to go way up to one of the top levels of the parking garage because it was so full of cars and I saw a very long line of cars waiting to leave the garage.

Once I found parking, I made my way to Art Whino. I had only been to that gallery one previous time so I walked over to where I thought it was located. Except there was a different store in the area where I thought Art Whino was located. I checked one of the street directories and Art Whino was still listed as being located where that different store is located now.

So I started walking from one end of Waterfront Street to the other in the hopes of finding Art Whino in a different location. I was unsuccessful so I decided to walk back down Waterfront Street towards the parking garage where I had parked my car. As I was walking, I briefly glanced down one of the side streets and I found Art Whino’s new location.

So I ended up arriving late but I found one empty seat so I took it. I did a bunch of drawings of the model while she did a bunch of poses in different outfits. Here are the results.

Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Model, Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

Towards the end of the drawing session, the model’s two young sons came over and they became curious about what the drawings of their mother looked like. So I volunteered to show them my work and one of them said that he thought that they were good.

Unlike Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School (which prohibits photography at its events), Art Whino had no problem with people taking pictures of the model. So I pulled out my camera and took a few photos towards the end of the free drawing session. You can compare my drawings with what the model really looked like. The first two photos show the model on the right receiving instructions on which pose to make.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

The model is hard at work.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

A drummer is testing his equipment before providing the music for the evening while the model is doing her pose for the artists.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

Here’s a close-up of the drummer.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

Once the drawing session ended, I stuck around a little longer as I viewed the art on display and took a few more photos. The next few photos are of shelves full of customized urban toys. It’s amazing to see the creativity in creating and/or customizing unique vinyl toys.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011
Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

Here are some drawing supplies that were provided for people who wanted to take part in the free drawing event but didn’t bring their own supplies.

Art Whino, National Harbor, June 18, 2011

As I was on my way back to the parking garage, I decided to take a quick photo of the Potomac River at twilight.

National Harbor, June 18, 2011

The one thing about National Harbor is that, with the number of upscale bars and restaurants, it draws enough cars on a Saturday night to create a traffic jam that resembles weekday rush hour on the Capital Beltway.

National Harbor, June 18, 2011

Even though the day was still cloudy from the long line of thunderstorms that have been plaguing the Washington, DC area for the last several days, I managed to see some pink during the sunset.

National Harbor, June 18, 2011