I’m going to devote the second entry of this new blog by focusing on the first doll that I’ve ever customized by myself. I’ve dubbed her The Blue Lady because of her big blue eyes and the fact that she wears a a predominantly blue dress.

photo9

photo10

The Blue Lady

The Blue Lady

She is a Volks Dollfie Plus and she is the same scale as a Barbie doll. (In fact, she is wearing a Barbie Fashion Fever outfit in the photos.) She is 27 cm/11 inches tall with dark blonde hair. She has a Volks Custom Hair Head A on a Volks Elegant Collection S (Slender Body). Unlike many other Volks Dollife Plus bodies, this one is made out of rubber and, while she doesn’t have articulated joints per se, she can still achieve more sophisticated poses than an average Barbie doll because of her rubber body. I painted her face using acrylic paints and I sealed the paint job with a matte varnish. I customized her way back in 2004 and she remains a permanent part of my doll collection for sentimental reasons (she’s my first fully customized doll).

