Santa Claus

I’ve owned The Elf on the Shelf long before The Elf on the Shelf became this huge holiday marketing trendy thing that families should buy in order to be hip.

wpid-IMG_20131228_103201787.jpg

I’ve had this elf since I was a child and I took him with me once I moved away and got married. My family never made him out to be a spy for Santa (like in the book). He was basically just a cute Christmas decoration. But now, thanks to the book, The Elf on the Shelf is everywhere and it has drawn its share of controversy. All I can say is that thanks to the whole Elf on the Shelf phenomenon, I have a totally hip decoration without spending any extra money.

My elf mostly resembles The Elf on the Shelf except that my elf has a green collar and green mittens while the official licensed Elf on the Shelf has a white collar and white mittens. There is a loop at the top of his head so he could be hung from a Christmas tree (which I’ve done in the photo). My parents got this elf sometime in the 1960′s or 1970′s and there is no tag indicating which company made it or where it was made. He is something I’ve always had and now he’s totally hip and popular.

I’m not the only one who owns an older Elf on the Shelf. I came across an interesting blog post about a person who collects the vintage elves.

 

