American Flag

I hope you’re not getting too overstuffed on turkey and pumpkin pie. ;-)

On a more serious note, I have to say that I’m thankful for a lot of things. First of all, I’m thankful for my family and friends.

I’m thankful that the doctor at The Wound Center decided to give me Thanksgiving week off from visiting the place and I’m hoping that by the time I see the doctor again next week the wounds from my September 8 surgery will have progressed further in healing.

I’m thankful that I made the decision not to travel outside the Baltimore-Washington, DC area this holiday season. I made that decision after my husband and I had to cancel the trip to Chicago to see two friends get married when my wounds started to bleed so much that it seeped on to my nightgown the night before we were to leave. Instead of boarding a plane, my husband and I ended up seeing the surgeon the next day. To this day neither the surgeon nor the Wound Center doctor could figure out what happened other than the blood was dark red (which indicated "old blood" that leaked rather than crimson colored blood that indicates a ruptured artery). The Wound Center doctor had slightly enlarged one of the wounds because she said that it was healing in such a way that would’ve resulted in pulled skin. Yet the blood came gushing out two days after my visit to that doctor

I’m thankful that I haven’t had any bleeding since that night before the aborted trip to Chicago. But, as a precaution, I am not going to take any out-of-town trips until after my wounds fully heal because I just don’t want to risk another bleeding episode then having to go to a new hospital and having to explain everything to an entirely new staff.

Despite all that drama, I’m thankful I had the surgery. If I hadn’t had it, my walking would’ve deteriorated to the point where I would’ve ended up in a wheelchair. Even though my walking is still far from perfect, at least I’m not in constant pain any more and I’m thankful for that.

I’m thankful that there are people in the Occupy movement that has literally re-opened the conversation on what kind of country we should have. I think having lots of different opinions being expressed opening will lead to a much stronger democracy in the long run.

That’s it for now.

